Tundra, Day 4

Time is tiptoeing by. Today we woke up early and went for breakfast at the Fryn’ Pan, which might be the finest of Perkins-style family breakfast diners. Megan paid $10 to fax a document from Kinko’s, and then we came home. She commenced working on internship stuff all day and I played with Photoshop, read the Hobbit, and laid down eventually to take a nap. I’m working on resolving in my mind that I’m not really here with her, but here on my own in a strange town with a busy family, just sort of haunting the rooms that are the warmest.

I’ve settled on writing my next story based on Laika, the little dog the Russians sent up in Sputnik II. She was one of three mutts trained to be sent into orbit, and perhaps showed the greatest signs of being ready when the time came. She lasted between four and seven hours, her heart finally giving way from stress and a failed cooling unit which practically caused her to broil alive. Happy story? Probably not, but I’m going to adapt it. A lot of people already have, but they’ve left the dog in the story, which I’m not going to do. As a protective measure, I’m going to read some of Samrat’s work to make sure science fiction will fly in his class. Somehow, I’m drawn to it right now and I’m not sure why.

Tonight promises South Dakota steak, which Megan says is among the tastiest in the country, if you like your meat screaming blue. Why not? We’re also stopping by the Falls, as in “Sioux Falls”, which are presently frozen solid and decked out in floodlights and colors worth photographing. Oh, and on that front: the photo of that fuzzy pink flower (go ahead and laugh) I’ve got hanging on the home page is getting published in Fiore, a new Bloomington arts magazine! My first published thing! And it wasn’t writing…I smell a lesson to learn. I have a goddamn expensive keyboard sitting at home gathering dust which, if I were in the least bit intelligent, would be traded for a super-sweet camera, telephoto lens, tripod, etc. Also, it might be worth it to take a class or two on the subject. 😀

So. Steamroll ahead with plan A:

  1. Write like a frigging bastard for Samrat. Hit that one out of the park, and you’ve got a sweet reference for editing jobs in NYC.
  2. Finish sentence with Londontown. Never look back.
  3. Take more super-sweet photos and get them published in local arts magazines. Get camera?
  4. Try to clear out of Bloomington by mid/late summer. With any luck, a job/internship will be waiting at the other end of this rope

How does that sound? Dodgy? Well good, because I have a plan B:

  1. Write like a frigging bastard for Samrat. Hit that one out of the park, and you’ve got a sweet reference for graduate school.
  2. Get the fuck off of the Londontown project. Take one for the team.
  3. Take more super-sweet photos and get them published in local arts magazines. Get camera?
  4. Send out massive salvo of grad school applications, meaning “work on portfolio”. Attend the one that offers the sweetest deal. Clear out of Bloomington.

And that’s as much as I’ve got on that subject. I might also try and get a super-cool article I wrote on Autism published in some major magazines. We’ll see. I’m feeling good about this shift from student to professional, but that sense of security, when I stand back a bit, looks awfully thin.

Leave a Reply

