Tectonics

Mmmmmmmmm, there’s something in the air. School is starting to weigh heavy and so I’m feeling hungry for things which are viciously alive. I couldn’t begin to tell you what I mean by that but trust me; whatever it is, it’ll be worth it. Of course I’m talking about what may happen after graduation in August.

First of all, it’s terrifying.

Believe me, though, when I tell you that for every fear I have a candle. I’ve made a promise to someone that I’m going to try and keep. Megan has signed on with the people she’s currently living with to work for them for rent and some pocket money, and for pacification of her incoming student loan payments. Not a bad move. Maybe she smelled the dried-up jobs fuming sulfur all over the country and pulled a quick dodge. The promise I made was to follow her. Okay, you might say. Well, I am going to try my best to find work in DC. I’ll probably have to live in Maryland or Virginia, but I guess most folks who work in DC commute from those places. Fair enough. The tough part: finding a job.

I will be applying to various government entities in search of work, or a paid internship. I have two months to find a job. I’ll be submitting resumes daily to these people…I hope one bites. Basically my only requirement is that I get paid and my job’s not some dead-end retail soul-sucker. I just won’t work another one of those.

<ahem>

I just got a message from my mother saying that my grandfather is dying presently in a hospital bed in FL. He’s had emphysema and the chemo table, when they laid him down on it, broke his back in several places. He’s been in excruciating pain for months now and finally is kicking off. I’ve lapsed into an emotional state. He is the first person I’ve ever cared about that will die during my lifetime. It’s a strange feeling…remorse, regret, anger, sadness…I’ll tell the story soon. He’s the only person in my family with whom I’ve ever identified, and now he’s nearly gone. He trained Mickey Mantle’s dogs.

Leave a Reply

